Out of the Silence and into the Light.

I posted my thoughts about the Heroin Epidemic into this blog site last week. I had written the article for myself. When I sent it to my son he encouraged me to post it.

We Came out of the Silence together.

Our intent was to share with friends, family and a hometown mourning the loss of a young man we knew when he was a boy. The town was jolted by three overdoses last week alone, two resulting in death. The third was able to be saved with the use of Narcan.

Astoundingly, this blog has had over 17,000 hits as of this writing. The response has been overwhelming. All of your messages, phone calls, comments and texts have been so supportive and extremely enlightening. The blog has been read all over the world.

You have Started the Conversation, one share at a time.

I would like to carry this Conversation to Facebook as that is where it started. Please join us. There is a link at the bottom of this page.

Thank you to everyone for sharing the message.

Addicts and families of addicts should not suffer in silence.
We need to pave a way for addicts who are ready for the journey to have access to recovery.

Please help by Stopping the Silence.

Speak the Truth. Start the Conversation.

Thank you.

33 thoughts on “Out of the Silence and into the Light.

  1. Thank you for your candid portrayal of the reality of heroin addiction. There is a hidden unspoken national epidemic surrounding all of us, and beautiful talented gifted kids (& adults) are dying every day. As a practicing clinical psychologist and one whose extended family is also all too familiar with the hell of this addiction, I have shared your story in social media, with colleagues, and with family and friends alike. Silence is lethal; it’s time we all wake up and speak up. Thank you for your astounding courage to stand up and state loud and clear what needs to be stated : this disease exists in ALL kinds of families, from all walks of life. It is not someone else’s problem; it’s ours. It IS time to shout it from rooftops – our kids are dying. There is an urgent national need to turn toward, not away from, this dark disease. Treatment resources, hope, recovery are urgently needed. Everyone, please share. Talk. Ask questions. Shout it from your own rooftop. Bring it into the light for all to see. Let’s open our eyes . It could be your son or daughter, or mine, or your neighbor or your kids’ best friend next. It’s time to shed bright light on these dark corners where the next fix looks like the only answer. It’s not. Recovery is possible. I applaud you Patricia Bryne. You are a hero to many who right now are suffering in shame and silence; your son is a huge inspiration and brings hope to so many who are struggling by the minute to stay clean. I, for one, intend to pass on your story everywhere, to everyone I know. Thank you, both of you, for illuminating my day with your strength, courage and experience.


      1. I am one of those silent sufferers…I struggle every single day, not to get high…but to keep from being sick, and to function. I can’t explain to you the people in high places & positions in my town that I know are seeing my dealer on a daily basis. Epidemic is exactly the word that describes this addiction. You would not look at me & think junkie. I do not shoot up and I am a “functioning” addict, however I must use that term lightly due to the things I have done to keep myself functioning. I read people’s comments everyday saying us addicts should suck it up & put our big girl panties on blah blah blah….that is exactly why we suffer in silence. Do people really think we woke up one day wanting to be a freaking junkie? We are clearly wired emotionally different. There is something inside every addict that made them think they could handle it. I know I did. NONE of us want to see that look of disgust and disappointment that we see from our loved ones. NONE of us want to hurt our loved ones. I lay down every single night worrying how I am going to come up with $50 the next morning so I can get up & go to work & take care of my children…yes, I said children and yes I am sure many eyes just rolled and moans were heard everywhere. Think what you will because I promise you that you can’t beat me up more than I beat myself up all day long. I am selfish. I also love my children & want more than nothing than to end this vicious cycle so that my children dont pay the terrible price of addiction. No $ & no insurance =NO HELP….addiction is everywhere people….chose to ignore it if you want, but eventually it will come knocking on your door. It will be driving your kids to school (yes, I know have seen a bus driver at my guys house), it will be your nurse or doctor (seen both of those too, all om their way to work…no us addicts don’t sleep all day, I am at my guys by 8-830 most mornings…gotta get to work)…hell, I’ve seen members of churches that I am pretty sure never recognized me….It is everywhere….talk to your kids…I am a hypocrite that does it to my 13 yr old every single day (no, he doesn’t know…I dont nod off & shit on myself…I make dinner, do homework, read stories to my 3 yr old etc)…anyway, I am rambling…thank you for your honesty & bravery on this shameful topic…keep me in your prayers that one day I find my way…

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Thank you for your candid experience as one who is addicted. My heart goes out to you and your family. But what good does empathy do to help this who suffer? I also suffer from addictions. I know we are hard wired differently than others, and it’s not a lack of love sickness, but rather a soul sickness.
          What does one say to there teen aged kids about this ever growing epidemic? I know I am powerless over my son’s choices. Part of me thinks if I keep the conversation going about addiction, he’ll grow more curious. Yet, I have do tell him of the consequences of my father’s heroin addiction, and the poor choices I’ve made.
          With no magic wand or invisible shield of protein, I fear for him. My husband and I keep him close and we know who his friends are,but there are no guarantees that we can prevent him from becoming an addict.
          Thank you again for sharing your daily hell, you are in my prayers.


    1. I feel like I’m at the cross roads and don’t know where to go. Mu daughter has overdosed once, has has friends die, is in trouble with the law and just keeps lieing yo everyone and herself. All I hear from people when try to get help is. ” No we can’t admit her she is not a threat to herself or anyone else, no beds available, talk to a judge get a court order and more nonsense.” I dred when the phone rings cause I think it’s the cops calling saying my daughter is dead. I just don’t know what to do!!!! HELP


      1. Please find an alanon or nar anon group in your area. Start with taking care of you. 💜

        For online support addictsmom.com has Facebook groups in every state as well as a lot of resources. Also online is is intherooms.com


  2. Each and every parent knows it’s out there; the drug that kills. You want to believe ‘not my child! My child know s better!’ That is until you receive that phone call that shakes your inner being to the core. From the age of 14 you watch the decline, you listen to the lies, see all the signs and yet you know that the addition is stronger than any parents love for their child. You spend your days in prayer, hours sitting by the phone in hopes of receiving word that your child is alive, driving around neighborhoods that are the center of their existence in hopes of finding your child before the drug takes another life. Hours of counseling in learning how to deal with the ‘drug of their choice’ only to awake one morning to find that the drug won. Your precious child is gone. Pain so deep takes over your existence. Anger, how did I let my child down, what could I have done different??? It never ends for the void of that all powerful existence of your child ceases to be. You learn to live with memories and give thanks for the opportunity that God gave to you to bring that precious life into the world.


  3. My son flirted with drugs since he was in college. He used alcohol when he couldn’t get drugs and for 10 years we did everything possible to get him back, including treatment, in patient and out patient. I had to get educated about addiction. He took his life at age 32. He hated himself because he couldn’t stop being what he himself detested; A drug addict.

    After he died the stigma prevented my ability to talk to anyone about my pain, my whole family’s pain. I began to journal about it, and about him. I spoke to addiction, and the fallout of suicide, to God, to myself, and I spoke to my son as well. It took me 8 years to let go of the journals and decided to share them in the form of a book that brought so many parents to me who were in agony over the addictions of a loved one, and those who had to grieve suicide of one of their children. I was afraid to give my son up to the judges who believe addiction is a choice. It is only a choice once, then it is a disease.

    My book is titled: WHY WHISPER? for obvious reasons. May it help someone here to feel less alone.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My son has battled with opiates for over 15 years now. 8 months ago, he started the first TRUE attempt at recovery. OH, he had time clean under his belt over the years, but never ever went thru any sort of recovery program or 12-step, etc… He is now 8 months clean, in a recovery house here in Huntington, WV called Broken Chains. He attends meetings 5 times a week, sometimes more…he has started true therapy to address the reasons he used to begin with…he has found his life again. And we spoke out together….to our friends, our family, and now very publicly. I have sat here for the last 20 minutes bawling my eyes out reading your blog. It’s as if it was me writing it. Every single word. When I read “I raised an addict”…sister, you nailed it on the head. Here in Huntington, we are facing an epidemic of monstrous proportions. I am on every council, team, summit, etc…I can be on. I, myself, am an addict with 26 years recovery under my belt, and still….I raised an addict AFTER I had been clean. Of all people, I should have known. But I fell into that trap of “parent guilt” and did everything I could to make sure my son had an easy life. Little did I know then. Keep writing, keep shouting, you are amazing.

    Donna Donovan


Comment here: Stop the Silence.

